The Woodburn Fire District (WFD) provides fire suppression, fire prevention services and emergency medical assistance to residents located within its 75-square-mile boundary. The boundary includes the city of Woodburn, the city of Gervais and a large area of unincorporated northern Marion County.

Originally, WRFPD was two separate entities. Established in 1901, the city of Woodburn Fire Department provided fire suppression and prevention services to residents within the city limits, while the Rural Fire Protection District, established in 1946, provided the same services for residents outside the city limits. In 1984, an election was held and voters chose to annex the city department into the rural protection district. In 1987, the city of Gervais was added to the district, rounding out its current service area.

The modern-day district is a four-station, 16-employee operation. It is a combination district that utilizes assistance on calls from volunteers and Resident Volunteers. Career firefighters work 24 hours on shift, and 48 hours off, providing alarm coverage 365 days a year. Residents attend evening and weekend shifts and are given opportunities for hands-on learning. Volunteers provide much-needed coverage when multiple calls for assistance come in, or when large incidents require increased manpower.

Regular meetings of the Woodburn Fire District Board of Directors are held the second Tuesday of every Month at 7:00 pm at the Headquarters Station ~ 1776 Newberg Hwy.

 NOTICE: The meeting room is ADA accessible. Accommodations and access to District meetings for people with special needs must be requested of the District in advance of the meeting. The agenda and other materials are available in alternative formats upon request.

View Details
Sold Out